Yamaha Tenere 700 Forum

2024 T7 suspension - upgrade options?

krza

I’m sure this has been discussed a lot, but I’m brand new to the T7 (500 miles in!) and would like to discuss suspension upgrades. 

My background: I’ve ridden my whole life, and race ISDE enduros on a Beta 2t 250 RR race edition, and I’ve desert raced various races on a 450x. I also dual sport and camp on semi-long trips (10 days to 3 weeks), usually on a plated 450x. I race A class, I’m decent, and know a thing or two about bike setup. 

I got a 2024 T7 to get to know the ADV market, as I work in marketing focused on ADV stuff. I had the ECU flashed by 2-Wheel Dyno Works, put a Leo can and cat delete mid pipe on it, and had suspension done by Evo with more aggressive valving and springs for my 225lb rider weight. 

Overall, the T7 is fun to ride. But I want it to be a bit better. It would be nice if it could get the front wheel off the ground a bit easier, for obstacle clearing and general rear-wheel technique. I might experiment with re-gearing. 

But the suspension is really the biggest lacking point. I will admit: I’m asking a lot of the bike. I want to enduro-clear big downed logs, climb steep rocks, etc.—think like the “heavy enduro” type stuff. Even with the spring and valving upgrades, the suspension is a bit “one dimensional” in that it lacks bottoming resistance; doesn’t have a progressive feel with top, middle, and bottom stroke; and it can blow through the stroke and bottom out quite easily. With the re-valve, the suspension front and rear mostly feel like it has a singular firm stroke without a ton of comfort or give when hitting objects at faster speed. 

I think going to a 2.5” rear wheel and a 140 true “enduro” tire could help with a softer rear feel (currently running a Motoz Desert H/T 150/70-18 which feels like a hard / stiff tire).